Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

Every year AIA Philadelphia presents a number of awards honoring the individuals that help shape our organization in addition to celebrating the esteemed firm winners of our annual Design Awards competition. These awards are about more than just a ceremony, they are a way for AIA Philadelphia to recognize the individuals and firms that create the legacy of excellence in design and toast the future of the architecture profession in Philadelphia.

This year we are excited to gather in person at The Fillmore on Thursday, December 8, 2022.

We hope you will join us in our annual celebration of design.

Design Award Winners

Special Awards

Gnome Architects, led by Gabriel Deck, AIA and Derek Spencer, AIA, has been selected to receive the prestigious 2022 PEA (Philadelphia Emerging Archit… More...

Kathy Dowdell has over 25 years of experience in architecture, interior design and historic preservation. More...

John Frederick Harbeson Award

The John Frederick Harbeson Award is presented annually to a long-standing member of the architectural community and is intended to recognize their significant contributions over their lifetime to the architectural profession and its related disciplines. The recipient of this award will have distinguished themselves throughout their career by their contributions to the architectural profession, the American Institute of Architects, the education of the architectural community, and their contributions to the Philadelphia community at large.

Paul Philippe Cret Award

The Paul Philippe Cret Award recognizes individuals or organizations who are not architects but who have made an outstanding and lasting contribution to the design of buildings, structures, landscapes, and the public realm of Greater Philadelphia.

Young Architect Award

The Young Architect Award, presented by AIA Philadelphia's Steering Committee of Fellows, seeks to recognize registered architect(s) between the ages of 25 and 39 for their contribution to the categories of leadership, practice, and service.

Submissions Due June 30th


The annual Philadelphia Emerging Architect Prize recognizes a Philadelphia firm that has been established and licensed within the past ten years for its high-quality design and innovative thought.

Submissions Due June 30th

Thomas U. Walter Award

The Thomas U. Walter Award is presented annually to a current member of the architectural profession and is intended to recognize their contributions to the architectural community through their service to the American Institute of Architects and other related professional organizations.

This website is powered by